Your Council

The Special Olympics Ontario – Greater Durham Community Council consists of 12 volunteer members. 

Each one represents a unique and pivotal role devoted towards the success of Special Olympics in Durham Region. 

The Council is the main governing and legislative body for Special Olympics Ontario in our community.

Donna Edwards                                                                                                                                                                                                               Chairperson

Cynthia Brown                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Vice Chair

Tanya Nadeau                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Treasurer

Joyce Dunlop                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Secretary

Karen Moloney                                                                                                                                                                                                  Volunteer Coordinator

Duncan Leblanc                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Registrar

vacant                                                                                                                                                                                                              Fundraising Coordinator

Doug Boyd                                                                                                                                                                                                  Public Relations Coordinator

vacant                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             School Liaison

Lynda Gernon                                                                                                                                                                                                  Sport Technical Coordinator

Michelle Fortner         Program Coordinator

Susan Heldsinger                                                                                                                                                                                                      Event Coordinator 

vacant                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Member at Large

vacant                                                                                                                                                                                                               Member at Large